Looking for advice on 2 reels!

mtjk
Hi fellow kakis..

I recently got hold of 2 BC reels. 

1. Shimano Stephano CI4+ 201
2. Shimano Caenan 150 

I have never used BC before and since gotten hold of them from an event. I was thinking of trying it out. Anybody used before these reels? Able to advise if they are suitable for light tackle or etc? 
Also able to advise how to know which rod could be a good pair with either one of these reels? 

Thank you and hope to gain some advice! 
  • LoneRider
    If this is your first experience with BC I suggest spooling with mono and practising with small lead weights. Mono is more forgiving and cheaper.

I use Daiwa and have only used mag brakes but I'm sure any reel, properly adjusted to the lure and wind conditions would work just as well. 
  • GreyL
    hello~~

I do agree if its your first BC fill it with mono if anything happens that you have to cut ur line to get birdnests out then it won't be that harsh on your wallet XD

the caenan is just your normal centri brake reel just put the brakes a lil higher just to get use to how it feels once your confident enough you can slowly turn down the brakes a lil.
    Best way to learn i personally would recommend u go a relatively big body of water just cast it out look where ur lure is and stop the spool before it lands in the water , yes i know some people say " oh if you have the setting right you dont have it thumb it!" ye may be true but you dont get alot of distance that way. Once you get used to thumbing the spool you turn brakes even lower experiment around see what setting you like. Kinda comes down to personal taste some like to tighten their spool tension according to lure weight some like it as loose as possible its all up to you.

PS doesnt the stephano not have any brakes? or am i wrong

-Grey
  • mtjk