Main lines for popping

nelsonlimjinwei
edited April 2015 in Jigging & Popping
Hi,

I am new to popping and currently this is my setup,
Stella 14k
Carpenter EP 85/36

I am currently looking at spooling in Power pro slick8 or varivas avani GT SMP PE6.

Any comments or better suggestions?
  • Andrewmj
    Hi there ,

So far Sunline Monster battle and avani GT Max both worked well for me in terms of casting and strength . ;)
  • nelsonlimjinwei
    Thanks Andrewmj

I am thinking what other lines are there out there that we could use other then the premium lines available.

Anyone else has any experiences with other lines?
  • SportAngler
    I am using Jerry Brown 80lbs solid and ATC Salt Alliance PE4 & 6.

Used for a few trip. Line vs price are good IMO.
  • ckjh
    Jerrybrown produces good lines and the prices are reasonable.
    I uses Varivas gt max, smp and gt max power plus, for JB, i uses both hollow and solid.
  • Steve71
    Dear TS

Varivas SMP / GT Max, Sunline, YGK are all proven in the popping arena. I use them extensively, they are great lines but on the expensive side. I have also used PowerPro 8Slick and they are a good value for money option. Did not fail me before too.

Stick with the tried and tested. You won't go wrong. Cheers!
  • nelsonlimjinwei
    Thanks for all the tips from all the senior kakis.

Just to ask, where can i get jerry brown and what type of line should i get from the aforementioned brand? I believe that there is quite a few type, hollow core, etc.
  • Romanion
    nelsonlimjinwei" said:
    Thanks for all the tips from all the senior kakis.

Just to ask, where can i get jerry brown and what type of line should i get from the aforementioned brand? I believe that there is quite a few type, hollow core, etc.
    RedTackle.com just started bringing Jerry Brown lines in.
  • ckjh
    Romanion" said:
    [quote="nelsonlimjinwei"]Thanks for all the tips from all the senior kakis.