Casting distance with PE 8 line

benscorpio99
edited November 2015 in Jigging & Popping
Hi I am new to the popping world and would like to ask what kind of rod, popper or stickbait do you guys use for a long distance cast with a pe 8 line.

I am using jerry brown solid core and could only achieve 65m in distance while my friend did 70m.

Looking forward to your advises and the type of gears you use to achieve the distance.
It would be great also if you have compared different line poundage to see what kind of difference would there be in the distance achieved.
  • SportAngler
    Line is not just the issue.
    What rod, reel & weight of popper you were casting?
  • ckjh
    benscorpio99" said:
    Hi I am new to the popping world and would like to ask what kind of rod, popper or stickbait do you guys use for a long distance cast with a pe 8 line.

I am using jerry brown solid core and could only achieve 65m in distance while my friend did 70m.

Looking forward to your advises and the type of gears you use to achieve the distance.
    It would be great also if you have compared different line poundage to see what kind of difference would there be in the distance achieved.
    Firstly what are the gears you are using. How long is your leader line? What is the poundage. What is the weight of poppers you are casting.
  • benscorpio99
    ckjh" said:
    [quote="benscorpio99"]Hi I am new to the popping world and would like to ask what kind of rod, popper or stickbait do you guys use for a long distance cast with a pe 8 line.

Firstly what are the gears you are using. How long is your leader line? What is the poundage. What is the weight of poppers you are casting.[/quote]

I am using endless passion 86/40 with 10k reel and casting 130g sticknait. leader is about 1.5-2m.
  • benscorpio99
    SportAngler" said:
    Line is not just the issue.
    What rod, reel & weight of popper you were casting?
    hi as stated above my gears. The leader is 130lbs.
  • Andrewmj