Beginner's guide: assemble certate 2500R custom (04)

frank7
edited August 2018 in Reels
This is a beginner's guide to assembling the reel. I am no reel expert, just sharing what I did on a boring bad weather weekend. Feel free to point out any mistake. You can also work this procedure backward to figure out how to strip it apart.

Maintenance on the bearings and gears, greasing and de-greasing procedure can be found elsewhere.

This is the schematic of a normal 2500 certate (2004), which I used for reference only.

My actual reel is a 2500 R custom. The bearing sizes are measured on my actual reel.

This procedure only touch on the main body. I will not go into the clicker, drag and bail-arm compartment.

First to go in is the Anti-Reverse Lever, it is held by a cam spring.

Insert the cam spring in the direction shown, it should snap into place easily.

Done.

Next is the Osc gear assembly. There is a bearing in the gear, this can be very tight fit. I have to use an Arbor press to get it out, and get it in again.

Put on the big shiny washer first. The O-ring and bearing should go onto the gear before placing it into the body.

Finally the screw, this is very tight when I removed it. Be careful not to bur the screw head. It has to be flush below the gear.

Next to go in is the main shaft. The slot on the shaft have to sit nicely on the stud of the Osc gear. There is also a tiny O-ring on the stud.

Insert the main shaft from the direction shown.

Done.

Next is the Pinion gear assembly.

Assemble all the 6 parts together.

Slide the whole thing into the main shaft as shown.

Done.

View from the top.

Next, you need to secure the Pinion gear assembly. Put on the Bearing Retainer.

Put on the 3 screws.