Light to Medium Popping Rod Recommendations for Novice

Ailerone
edited April 2014 in Jigging & Popping
Hi guys

I'm new to popping, mostly used to jigging offshore.
I'm looking for a light to medium popping rod for targeting GTs of about 5-15kg range. Any recommendations for rods?
I think I might be pairing with a Twinpower SW 6k.
  • Andrewmj
    Ailerone" said:
    Hi guys

I'm new to popping, mostly used to jigging offshore.
    I'm looking for a light to medium popping rod for targeting GTs of about 5-15kg range. Any recommendations for rods?
    I think I might be pairing with a Twinpower SW 6k.
    Hi Bro , can i know what's yr budget?
    :D
  • Ailerone
    Hi bro, thanks for replying. I'm looking at a budget of about $1500 for rod, reel and line.. Currently my friends recommend me to get Kaiser Lightcast 73H with Twinpower SW 6000.
  • Luke Maow Bear
    Ailerone" said:
    Hi bro, thanks for replying. I'm looking at a budget of about $1500 for rod, reel and line.. Currently my friends recommend me to get Kaiser Lightcast 73H with Twinpower SW 6000.
    Or the Temple Reef Stealth HH. Andrew will walk you through the Carpenters. I will throw an Ultimo Ripple PE6 into the mix; the Kaiser Lightcast I have never tested so I would not know, however their rods have been proven time and time again to be light, strong and easy to cast.

You are looking to get a Twin Power, which opens up the budget for your Rod.
  • Ailerone
    Thanks for the recommendations. Where can I take a look at the Ultimo Ripple PE6? Is it too heavy for a beginner into popping? $1500 - $650 for Twinpower, I'm left with $850 for rod & line.
  • Boardbill
    Bro a shimano 6k reel is only good for pe3 to 4 popping avg lone cap about 200m.
    To match it with a pe6 rod might not be a wise choice.

6k reel are good for pe2 to 4 popping rod 40lbs line casting weight avg 60 to 80g

With your budget I would suggest u get a bigger 12k twinpower and kaiser el toro 100