NEED HELP AND TIPS and also NEED Cheap and Affordable Boat Contacts for GTs (20kg or less) in BALI!

superminnn
edited May 8 in Jigging & Popping
Hi Guys, I am probably going to go Bali for a short holiday in July, would like to include a day or 2 of boat GT fishing. I have no experience popping and jigging for fish on boat, but I have been luring in fw since I ever started on FK. 

Would like to know if any kakis here know of affordable boat contacts in Bali for GTs around 20kg or less?

What setup would you recommend?

As of now, I have a 15-30lb bc 7ft rod , 10-20lb spinning7ft rd with ATC Combat reel and also Twinpower C3000HG, can it withstand the GT? How many lb of line and leader should I use? What about the weight of the lures?

Sorry guys, really new in this game.  But I am really keen to start on this adventure. Really appreciate whatever help and tips I can get from Kakis here
  • Luke Maow Bear
    edited May 9
    Hey bro, there are few hurdles you have.
    • You have very few months left to get this going and chances are slim if not very expensive
    • Most charters don't take 1 or 2 anglers, they rent their entire boat; do you have a group?
    • Charters try to put you on a type of fish as supposed to putting you onto a size of fish as you have stated; 20 kilo or less
    • Setups start at PE6 and a Shimano 8000 sized reel
    • I use PE 8 to PE 10 with 120 gram to 160 gram lures (up to 230 grams)
    • 130 lb to 170 lb to 250 lb Leader
    • You will be spending more on your gear + charter than your holiday
    • If you are going for 1 to 2 days you might as well not go, charters work from 3 to 5 days. 1 to 2 day trips don't travel very far and are never serious events.
    • Bali is not exactly known for catch and release which make matters bleak for chasing a 20 kilo GT