New to Bass fishing

stn0404
edited November 2016 in General Fishing
Hi guys 

I am new to this hobby. There are some things which i don't quite understand.

Should my line strength be lower than the test strength of my fish rod?
Will a heavier lure break my fish-line?
Is a medium rod recommended for a beginner?
Which line strength should i use for bass fishing?
The line strength will determine the type of reel i will be using?
  • Luke Maow Bear
    edited November 2016
    As a rule of thumb, if you use an 8 - 16 Rod, use 8lb to 15lb, no hard rules but it's a good indicator. 

A rod has a max casting weight, this is also known as a comfort weight. You can go slightly heavier. It's max weight normally is the highest you can go while casting hard. Anything heavier needs a lesser powerful cast. The max weight is almost always under rated. 

Medium is fine because it's a good start to allow you to cover more types of fishing. 

Line you use is determined on line capacity as you don't want to use a thicker line for a reel that is shallow in nature. For example use 2lb to 8lb for a 1000 sized Shimano reel.10lb for a to 15lb for a 2500 sized Shimano reel. 10lb to 20lb for a C3000. 8lb to 30lb for a 4000. It's not a direct science as the type of fishing you use counts. 

Hope that helps. 
  • Freakinfart
    Luke already help you liao..

But being the kaypo me.. i also reply la ok?

1. Heavier lure wont actually break the rod ah.. but best dont cast like some siao lang maciam throwing shotputt, imagine u casting some 45g lure and you use pendulum casting.. The max weight lure for rod ALWAYS underrated like what Luke said.. for example if 5-15g lure weight, you can maybe exceed till 22g. I'm using 5' vivid light game rod lure weight max is 15g but i cast 28g whopper plopper :3